It may be time to restore your Windows 10 or Windows 11 computer to factory settings if it is experiencing difficulties. In this article, we’ll guide you through How To Reset Computer To Factory Settings? I’m sure after reading the article you’ll be able to reset your computer to the factory setting. So, read the article carefully from top to down.
You can uninstall a recent update or run Microsoft’s Refresh Windows tool if your Windows machine is acting up. If you want to make sure your hard drive is healthy, you can run your own diagnostic tests. Nevertheless, you might want to reset your PC to its factory settings if your PC isn’t working well or if you intend to get rid of your current system.
Complete Guide For How To Reset Computer To Factory Settings?
The steps below are mostly the same regardless of whether you are still using Windows 10 or if you have upgraded to Windows 11. Back up your files before starting this process, as it may wipe your current settings and files.
Reset Window 10
Open the Settings window in Windows 10 by clicking the gear icon in the lower-left corner of the Start menu. Alternatively, you can choose Settings from the app list. Then, under reset, this PC, click Get started under Update & Security > Recovery.
Reset Windows 11
Select Settings > System > Recovery (or Settings > Windows Updates > Advanced options > Recovery). If the Reset this PC option is selected, click Reset PC.
Choose What To Erase
The Keep my files option is available on either operating system to ensure only downloaded apps and settings are removed. In the event of a rollback, this will preserve all personnel files. Select Remove everything if the drive has been overwritten or if you intend to throw away the computer. Downloaded apps, settings, and personnel files will be removed from the drive after you perform this operation.
Choosing how to reinstall Windows is the first step before pressing the reset button. Choosing Local reinstallation allows you to install Windows directly from local storage if you prefer that approach.
Directly grabbing files from Microsoft’s servers is easier if you click Cloud download. As an alternative to booting from a USB stick, this option requires over 4 GB of available storage space.
Customize Additional Settings
Once you’ve selected what you want, you can customize a few settings based on your choice. The following options will be displayed when you click Change settings on the Additional settings screen:
Choose to keep my files to restore the PC’s old files, apps, and settings. Preinstalled apps can be disabled if you want to change this.
All of your files will be erased if you choose to remove everything. Personnel files can be recovered with the right software, making them less secure than the other method of removing them. During the process of selling the machine, you will want to enable clean data to ensure that your data is not just deleted, but overwritten as well. Taking this long is worth it, but it will take longer than expected.
The answer you chose for reinstalling Windows has already been selected, but you can change it here. Does Download Windows need to be enabled or disabled? The operating system will be downloaded remotely if you select Yes.
It is also possible to control whether other drives should be wiped if you have multiple drives installed. If your place of work has configured certain settings, you may also be able to delete workplace resources. Before making any changes, contact the IT department at your company.
Reset Your Computer
When you are done choosing, click Next, and Windows will show you a summary of what will happen when you complete the reset. Choosing to keep my files would allow you to view a list of apps that would be removed in the reset process. You can reset your settings whenever you are ready. Within a short period of time, your computer will restart and reboot.
Your work is done when you dispose of the computer. If not, sign back into Windows and make sure you’ve removed everything you wanted. You can now restore your backup files if you backed them up online or using the Recovery Drive.